By Darkness Hid (Blood of Kings Series) By Jill Williamson

By Darkness Hid (Blood of Kings Series) By Jill Williamson

  • Spirituality -- Moderate
  • Romance -- Some
  • Violence -- Moderate

Achan, a 16-year-old stray, slaves for Prince Gidon and the evil Lord Nathak until Sir Gavin enlists Achan as his squire. Achan rushes to finish his training and win his childhood sweetheart’s hand but Prince Gidon conscripts Achan into his service, dashing his hopes. Sir Gavin disappears, and Achan begins to be plagued by voices in his head and the disturbing ability to read minds. Princess Vrell, must pose as a 14 year old boy—even a stray to avoid the evil intents of Prince Gidon. Also gifted with the power of mind reading by the true God, Vrell is forced into the services of the duplicitous bloodvoicing Master Macoun Hadar. Destiny draws the two strays together, but Lord Nathak holds a secret over Achan, and Prince Gidon is bent upon intrigue and revenge.

By Darkness Hid is the tale of the underdog who never giving in, never giving up slogs his way up from the bottom of society, with courage, skill and an endearing cynical wit. Jill Williamson has created a fascinating story world, an interesting heroine, consistent characters and a riveting plot filled with surprises. This allegory conveys excellent spiritual truths in the tradition of Lewis and Tolkein. No spoilers, but you’ll feel compelled to read the next book! By Darkness Hid is a 2010 Christy Award winner.

Age Range: 11 and up

Genre: Fantasy

Marcher Lord Press 2009

Series: Book 1 of  3 Blood of Kings Series

Available: Amazon,, Also ask for this title at your local library and book store

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose a Rating